top of page
  • thefreefrommummies

Free From Family | @livingwithallergies


"Hi! My name is Hannah and I’m allergic to peanuts, tree nuts, sesame, peas, beans, lentils, lupin and fenugreek. My first allergic reaction occurred when I was very young. I ate some peanut butter and came out in a rash so my parents decided to not give me anything with peanuts in from then on. However, I later reacted to peas, and while on holiday in Portugal I reacted to sesame, resulting in my tongue and throat becoming itchy and my lips becoming swollen. My parents then pushed for me to undergo allergy testing - it was definitely harder back then to get tested for allergies! These tests revealed that I had various food allergies that would require me to carry epipens. As well as food allergies, I have asthma, pollen allergies, a dust mite allergy, various animal hair allergies and oral allergy syndrome. As I’ve got older, I’ve had to navigate managing my allergies in new situations – from travelling without my parents for the first time to living in shared accommodation for university – and it’s all possible! I’m now completing my teacher training and will advocate for the children with allergies in my school to keep them safe."


By sharing our stories, we free ourselves and let others know that they aren't alone #freefromfamily


Do you have a story that you would like to share? Maybe you have a delicious tried and tested free from recipe, or perhaps you have written a poem?! If you have something that you would like to share, please get in touch at thefreefrommummiespodcast@gmail.com

88 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page