top of page
  • thefreefrommummies

Caroline and Spencer's Story

Updated: Sep 7, 2021



I knew there was something wrong very soon after Spencer was born. The constant crying, the wind, the apparent agony...but it was only after 4 months that we got a diagnosis, via a private paediatrician and allergist.

Before that I had weekly emergency doctor appointments and a trip to A&E, always told by the ‘experts’ that he was just a new baby, I was a new mummy, and I clearly needed some rest and some antidepressants.

I definitely needed the latter which any allergy parent will know - looking after allergy babies is HARD. But what I found hardest is the disbelief by not only medical professionals, but also by my family and husband. I was constantly told that there was no way he was allergic to dairy and that I was being dramatic and needed rest.

When that lovely paed confirmed that yes I did need rest but more importantly, yes Spencer was allergic to cows milk protein, I sobbed. I cried happy tears in the lift on the way down to the car park and I cried angry tears towards my husband back at home. I was relieved we had an answer and relieved I wasn’t going insane.

Two years later we are still dairy free and IGE allergic to eggs, which took us by surprise. He is a healthy and happy little boy who couldn’t be more different to the miserable and unsettled baby before diagnosis. We got there in the end.

We’re close to considering baby number 2 but still feel so cautious following our difficult time with Spencer. But then I tell myself how much we’ve grown as parents and how assertive I’ll be with healthcare professionals if we find ourselves with another allergy baby. I will be THAT strong mamma who instead of accepting she’s a new mum and therefore knows nothing, refuses to leave the hospital until hydrolysed milk is prescribed!

We’ve got this.

65 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page